Chico's Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Chico's
Shop Black Label or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Chico's Black Label Surplice Blouse

Chico's Black Label Surplice Blouse

The Black Label blouse with alluring details to adore: sophisticated chiffon with a crossover surplice, banded in front for a blouson effect, with a hi-low hem for a flowy back. Individual style. Clean, modern lines. The exclusive Black Label by Chico’s ™ collection. Concealed single-snap closure for perfect coverage at the surplice neckline. Shirred back yoke. Beveled button cuffs. Double-lined front. Length: 28". 100% polyester. Imported. Earring not available.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
14 out of 18(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Review 1 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarTXSue
Age:In my 60s
Body Type:Average
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Texas
Yes, I recommend this product.

Simply beautiful

PostedJuly 25, 2014
This blouse is well made and fits true to size. There is a small snap in the front, but I will wear a cami inderneath as it does gap when you move. Can't wait to wear it this fall!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarEsmeralda
Age:In my 50s
Body Type:Curvy
Shopping Frequency:Occasionally
State:Florida
City: Hollywood
Yes, I recommend this product.

Simply Lovely

PostedMarch 11, 2014
I bought this blouse to go with the velvet boysenberry pants as pictured. I usually wear a size 0 and the sizing was true. The material is nice as is the cut and style. It is also a professional looking blouse that can be worn with a black pencil skirt or even under a suit jacket. The hem is longer in the back, which is nice for tucking in the back to avoid any "wardrobe malfunctions" when you bend over in pants that don't quite hit the waist (as lots of them don't these days).
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
small
true to size
large
Customer avatarVeru430
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Average
Shopping Frequency:Occasionally
State:Florida
City: Miami

Impressive

PostedMarch 1, 2014
I bought in size 1 and the fit was great in my shoulders and sleeve. Of course this design required a little pin in the front to close better, but it´s not a problem in comparison with the lovely color, fluid texture and elegant look. It goes so nice with different colors of jackets, I tried with gold, white and jean, always great!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
small
a little too large
large
Customer avatarNever enough Chicos
Age:In my 50s
Body Type:Curvy
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Texas
City: Fort Worth
Yes, I recommend this product.

Beautiful Blouse But Awkard Design

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
I loved this blouse. Was a beautiful color. Bought the Military Jacket and Boysenberry jeans also. Beautiful outfit but the blouse had only one small snap and I fear it would come open. I had to return due to the design. Sad because I loved the shirt but was afraid of the snap coming undone.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
small
too large
large
Customer avatarSherwood
Age:In my 50s
Body Type:Curvy
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Pennsylvania
City: Greensburg, PA
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love the color...

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Going back, it is just too big. Boxy+ long tail+ too deep v=not flattering for me.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSylvia1
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Curvy
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Georgia
City: Georgia
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love this

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Beautiful blouse that coordinates perfectly with Black Label velvet pants of the same color. A discrete pin keeps the front from having a "wardrobe malfunction". I think Chico's should consider adding an additional snap (or two) to the front of this style blouse.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarFashion Forward 39
Age:In my 30s
Body Type:Average
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Georgia
City: Atlanta
Yes, I recommend this product.

A Staple In My Closet

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Beautiful color, gorgeous fit, and super chic! Love the fact that it's not so sheer that it requires a tank. Black Label always gets it right!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarfrenchychic
Age:In my 50s
Body Type:Average
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:California
City: Beach Town

Great Color & Fabric

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Beautiful color, feels wonderful, unfortunately this top does not fit me well. One size was too small, so I ordered the larger size online which was way, way too large. I would have gladly sewn on snaps to keep this closed, but it is not to be. If this fits you, it is a gorgeous, rich color which you will love.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarJudy100
Age:In my 60s
Body Type:Petite
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:California
City: San Diego
No, I do not recommend this product.

Weird fit

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
I returned this thought the color was great, the style was tough to wear with boobs.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarWindsurfer
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Average
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Colorado
City: CO
No, I do not recommend this product.

Weird fit and design. Exposure likely without modification

PostedDecember 9, 2013
I bought this to go with the matching military jacket since there wasn't much that matched the jacket. Love the military jacket, but this blouse has a weird fit and design. There is one snap at the top and attachment at the hem to keep the surplice closed. That's it, no buttons or anything in between. Sounds like an invitation for unintended exposure! I work with mostly men so I can't have something like that happen. When I wore it to work for the first time I used fabric tape along the entire open area between the snap and hem. I also wore a silky tank hidden underneath just in case the fabric tape failed (it didn't thankfully!) Topped it all off with the military jacket and fastened a couple of the jacket's hooks. The blouse and jacket looked great together as hoped. However, I would not recommend buying this blouse to wear by itself. I will wear it only with the military jacket, which was my original intent anyway.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
small
a little too small
large
Customer avatarwen101
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Curvy
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Texas
City: Austin
Yes, I recommend this product.

Beautiful color - wonky fit

PostedNovember 30, 2013
This is a beautiful shirt, but it does fit a little weird. I found that it kind of cut in at the bottom front and gaped open where it criss crosses. I normally wear a 2 in all chicos tops and jackets, but am going to order this in a 3 and see if it fits better. I dont mind it being a llittle big because I will probably wear it with skinny pants and jeans. You would need to wear a cami under it either way. Still a pretty and flattering blouse.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
small
a little too small
large
Customer avatarforch963
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Curvy
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Illinois
City: Palatine
No, I do not recommend this product.

Beautiful color but awkward fit

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Beautiful blouse and color, but the fit was very tight at the waist and the crossover front was too big and very open. Disappointed.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Response from Chico'sBy Chico's Customer ServiceNovember 30, 2013
Thank you for your comment about the Black Label Surplice Blouse; your comment will be passed along to our product and design team to have it evaluated for future styles. We are disappointed to learn that this top was not the look you originally desired. Our goal is to compliment your beauty with a stylish wardrobe as we want you to love our styles as much as we do. Thank you for your continued loyalty and for shopping at Chico's.


Review 13 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarGypsy777
Age:In my 60s
Body Type:Petite
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:New Hampshire
City: Concord
Yes, I recommend this product.

A perfect blouse to wear under the flowing flattery of a print with color to pop!

PostedNovember 14, 2013
This blouse provides a gold snap to keep it together; it works! It also goes well with the military style jacket with the same solid color scheme. I recommend purchase of all three items, and enjoy them!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avataryee67
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Curvy
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Texas
City: Houston
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great color

PostedNovember 12, 2013
I love this blouse. I bought it along with the military jacket and I have received many compliments. Per the recommendation of the sales person I also bought fabric tape to keep it from opening in the front. Worked like a charm!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarClassy chick
Age:In my 40s
Body Type:Petite
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Ohio
City: Avon Lake
Yes, I recommend this product.

Black Label brand Substandard fabric

PostedNovember 9, 2013
The top is very classy and nice but the fabric that was used to make this top is very substandard for a Black Label brand. Very dissapointing. Better fabric should have been used such as silk.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarHiplady
Age:Over 70
Body Type:Curvy
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Louisiana
City: Houma
No, I do not recommend this product.

Badly executed design

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Very good looking blouse. Received compliments,
However, it falls open when you sit down or move.
I had to pin it together in front. Seems you could have tested
This design a bit more. Will take some sewing on my part
before I can wear it again to add snaps. What a bummer- I hate to
sew. And it wasn't inexpensive.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
small
a little too large
large
Customer avatarChica2Lady
Age:In my 60s
Body Type:Petite
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Virginia
City: McLean, VA
Yes, I recommend this product.

Perfect with the matching military jacket...

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Classy blouse alone or under the military jacket shown in the Black Label showcase. It runs a little large, so order one size down. Another Black Label winner.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRedridinghood
Age:In my 50s
Body Type:Petite
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Washington
City: Tacoma
Yes, I recommend this product.

B.L. Surplice Blouse

PostedOctober 29, 2013
I love this blouse even though I am a bit busty. I was concerned with what might be exposed but all is fine for now. It makes a terrific top to coordinate with the velvet pants and the cashmere throw. A great design element and I especially like the longer back. Well done.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarCruiser49
Age:In my 60s
Body Type:Petite
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:Michigan
City: Grand Haven
Yes, I recommend this product.

Beautiful, classy shirt!

PostedOctober 28, 2013
I received this shirt today and am very impressed with it. I will say, though, that I sized down one size to a 0 instead of my usual size 1. I have a couple of other looser fit shirts from Chicos that I love but that I found to run a bit large, so this was perfect! The color is beautiful and I know I will be wearing this a lot, with both a pencil skirt and skinny jeans or pants.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Black Label Surplice Blouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatardoobie58
Age:In my 50s
Body Type:Curvy
Shopping Frequency:Frequently
State:New York
City: Buffalo
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Blouse

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Got this blouse in the cream and just love it so I will get it in the boysenberry as well. Fits true to size and I especially love the longer length in the back, very stylish. I highly recommend this piece as it is another Black Label winner!!!!
+37points
39of 41voted this as helpful.